To My College Grad: Where Did the Time Go?

13 May

graduation cap diploma isolated on a white backgroundAs I sit and reflect upon yesterday’s commencement ceremony, I can’t help but feel “ambivalently nostalgic.”  I am happy for you and proud of you.  I am also a little bit sad (for me?) about the blur that is the past twenty-two years.  Although I know full well where it went — after all, I’ve been an active participant — I sit here and ask myself, “where did it go?”

Where is that eagerly-awaited, beautiful baby boy?

Where is that toddler that I dragged everywhere with me?

Where is that little boy who made every day a new adventure?

Where are the school plays, spelling bees, band concerts, and field trips?

Where are the basketball, baseball, soccer, and football games?

Wasn’t your high school graduation just yesterday?

Invariably, I know the answers to all those questions.  You’re still the same kid, just older, wiser, and ready to set out on a new adventure.

Good luck, my son.  Work hard, stay positive, and good things will happen.  I wish you every happiness and every success that life has to offer.  Create your future… make it how you want it to be.  I love you, Eric.

10 Responses to “To My College Grad: Where Did the Time Go?”

  1. Jim Smith May 13, 2013 at 8:31 AM #

    Wow! Very cool my friend.

    Jim Smith Big Game Capital, LLC 216-337-5874 cell 440-893-7529 office jim.smith@biggamecapital.com

  2. Ginny Dashiell May 13, 2013 at 9:47 AM #

    Congrats to Eric and you & Carol for raising such a great young man! I am with you Brian…I blinked and it happened!

  3. Rick Duncan May 13, 2013 at 1:32 PM #

    Heart-warming and heart-wrenching. Thanks for sharing. What a great family!

  4. Roger Hutkay May 13, 2013 at 1:36 PM #

    What a great post!! I feel your words.
    Congratulations to you and your son Eric.
    You must be so proud!

  5. Vicki May 16, 2013 at 9:21 PM #

    That is beautiful Brian. I had to read it a few times, my tears were clouding my vision!

Leave a Reply

