Be Flexible With Your Training

28 Feb

running_stairs[1]I try to exercise six days a week, usually by strength training (4 days) and playing basketball (twice weekly).  Since I workout at the facility I own and operate, there’s rarely an excuse to miss a day (not that I haven’t).  But basketball isn’t always an option, since our group plays at the local middle school.  When school is not in session (holidays, summer, etc.) the gym is closed, which means no basketball.

If I can’t play basketball I’ll do something different.  I’ll run some sprints, intervals, or stadium stairs.  I’ll go for a bike ride, jump rope, or swim some laps.  They’re not necessarily my favorite activities, but I’d rather do something than miss exercising.

Your activity doesn’t need to be anything athletic or overtly exercise related, just do what you enjoy.  Walk your dog or work in the garden.  Get started on that home improvement project.  When you shop at your local mall, take the stairs instead of the elevator or escalator.

The point is… just keep moving.

Get STRONGER, Get FASTER!

Your thoughts?

2 Responses to “Be Flexible With Your Training”

  1. Tammy Gibson February 28, 2014 at 8:41 AM #

    Brian- Another great blog. In the first sentence, didn’t you mean “and” though instead of “or”? Tammy

    • Brian Lebo February 28, 2014 at 10:19 AM #

      Probably. On a daily basis, it’s either one or the other. On a weekly basis, it’s both.

Leave a Reply

