You’ve Got to Work Through Some Discomfort

4 Aug

Initially, the working title of this article was going to be, You’ve Got to be Able to Work Through Some Discomfort.  But then, I thought, certainly (virtually) everyone has the ability to work through some discomfort.

So then, I thought, maybe willingness is the issue.  Maybe when things get tough, some people just aren’t willing to work through some discomfort.  I think this is probably closer to the crux of the issue.

Finally, I thought, maybe awareness is part of the problem.  Maybe some people just don’t know how to work through some discomfort.

Now, from a training perspective, understand that when I refer to “working through some discomfort,” I’m not talking about lightheadedness (yep, that’s a real word), dizziness, and/or nausea.  When that happens, we shut people down.

What I’m referring to is the discomfort – physical, psychological, and emotional – that invariably accompanies a challenging workout.  Muscular fatigue that makes you feel like your brain and body can’t – or don’t want to – continue.  And, I’ll be the first to admit, it can be difficult to push yourself and keep moving forward when that happens.

Here’s a gem from my friend and Yoga instructor extraordinaire, Megan:

Image may contain: text

I like that.  I think it’s helpful to consider that a challenging juncture in your workout is a resting point and not a stopping point.

I am also convinced that the problem is more mental than physical.  I think lots of folks just don’t believe they can keep pushing forward.  They lack the mental discipline and intestinal fortitude to keep going when the going gets tough.

Image may contain: text

Condition yourself to push through your workout when your body and brain feel like quitting, even if it’s just one more repetition.  Over time, you’ll be pleasantly surprised at what you can accomplish.

Get STRONGER, Get FASTER!

Your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

